End of Your Life Book Club

-50%

End of Your Life Book Club

 799.0  399.5

Review

Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. (Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of

Category: Tag:

Description

Review

Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. (Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra)I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do. (Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes)A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son. (Library Journal)Will Schwalbe’s brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You’ll turn the last page wishing you’d met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example – and promising yourself to read more. (J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar)At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son – an ode to that beautiful thing called love. (Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You)A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page. (Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper)an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work. (Publishers Weekly starred review)An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature’s great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn’t afraid of addressing life’s most profound and baffling questions. (Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness)a moving and inspiring story (Choice Magazine)This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it. (Booklist (starred review))

Book Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERThe inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a ‘book club’ that brings them together as her life comes to a close.

About the Author

Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing for many years. He is the author of the international bestseller, The End of Your Life Book Club and the critically-acclaimed Books for Living, and co-author (with David Shipley) of Send: Why People Email So Badly and How to Do It Better. He has also worked in digital media, and was the founder of Cookstr.com. As a journalist he wrote for the New York Times and the South China Morning Post. He lives in New York City.@willschfacebook / instagram / pinterest > will.schwalbe

Read more

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.


Be the first to review “End of Your Life Book Club”


Featured Products

Latest Products

You've just added this product to the cart: